About IWA

Who we are

The International Women's Association of Bucharest

The International Women's Association of Bucharest is an independent, voluntary, charitable, non-profit and apolitical organization.

The purpose of IWA is to promote friendship amongst women of all nationalities living in Romania, and to introduce its foreign members to the life and culture of our host country.

In addition, IWA raises funds to support such charitable projects and organizations as IWA determines to be sound and worthy recipients of funding. IWA was founded in 1978 by members of the diplomatic community and local women, and became a legal association in 2000.

Our History

IWA wouldn't exist without the hard work of many women over the years. These caring volunteers from around the globe gave their time, talent and smiles in order to help other families forge connections and feel at home in Bucharest. We love you and give you our heartfelt thanks!

IWA's 40th anniversary celebration video

Our Team

IWA Volunteer Board

Past Presidents since IWA was registered in 2000:

2021-2022 Samantha Petcu (Guyana / United States)

2020-2021 Liana Minasyan (Armenia)

2019 – 2020 Terry O’Donnell Parsons (United States)

2018 – 2019 Gladys Abankwa-Meier-Klodt (Ghana / Germany)

2017 – 2018 Ximena Alexandra Reyes (Chile / Sweden / Ecuador)

2015 – 2017 Terry O’Donnell Parsons (United States)

2014 – 2015 Jessica Townsend (United States)

2013 – 2014 Urga Denize (Mongolia)

2012 – 2013 Patti Golden (United States)

2011 – 2012 Anne Hutton (United Kingdom)

2009 – 2011 Erzsebet Bajtai (Hungary)

2008 – 2009 Irina Budrina Geets (Russia)

2007 – 2008 Tesca Barnett-Osman (United Kingdom)

2006 – 2007 Omaima Goher (Egypt)
and Josy Van der Stock Verrijt (Netherlands)

2005 – 2006 Peggy Bates (United States)

2003 – 2005 Sharah Shelee (United Kingdom)

2002 Nevena Milkova

2001 Mavis Mitchell

1999 – 2000 Ursula Groeger (Austria)

IWA became a legal voluntary, charitable, non-profit, non-political and non-religious organization at the turn of the century thanks to the dedication of:

Ursula Groeger (Austria)

Ruth Collins (Canada)

Bonnia Bezmalinovic (Croatia)

Angelika Kraus (Germany)

Heinze Kirtcheva (Germany)

Graf Heike (Germany)

Petra Mueller Demary (Germany)

Antoinette C. E. Moorrees (Holland)

Georgiana Pogonaru (Romania)

Lucia M. Ban (Romania)

Daniela Kammrath (Romania)

Melike E. Roman (Romania)

Iris I. Pungan (Romania)

Diana L. Zotescu (Romania)

Gertrude Stefan (Romania)

Marie Jeanne Joseph (Switzerland)

Naila Bangerter(Switzerland)

Sheilah Kast (United States)

Jemma V. E. Marlor (United Kingdom)

Joy P. Croome (United Kingdom)

IWA is a proud member of

Become a member and you will have access to all our Events

IWA Bucharest